The Widow of Zarephath (Day 6)

image

Today’s Reading: 1 Kings 17:7-16
12 “By the living Lord your God I swear that I don’t have any bread. All I have is a handful of flour in a bowl and a bit of olive oil in a jar. I come here to gather some firewood to take back home and prepare what little I have for my son and me. That will be our last meal, and that we will starve to death.”

A handful of flour and a little oil – that was all that stood between the widow’s family and starvation. Imagine her feelings when a stranger, a foreigner, asked her to share it with him. Even though his request came with a promise, it was a promise from a God she did not know. For all that, she believed him, made a cake from what she had, and gave it to him. After that, every time she needed to cook she witnessed a miracle. The flour and oil lasted and fed them all until the rain came!
There may be times in our lives when we are in the same situation as the widow. Our resources are gone and there seems little hope of relief. We too have been given a promise by the same God who helped the widow.

“And with all his abundant wealth, through Christ Jesus, my God will supply all your needs”
(Philippians 4:19)

His provision may come from unusual sources – an unexpected gift comes in the mail; a friend passes on clothes that have become outgrown; a food parcel is left on your doorstep. Do we miss seeing God’s good hand at work because we are expecting him to answer in the way we want?
We also need to have the widow’s sharing heart. We may feel that we hardly have enough for ourselves let alone any to share. But God asks us to give from a heart that trusts him. If we do we will find that our God is more than able to meet our every need.

Lessons Learnt

God wants us also to trust him with the little that we have. How hard is that?
It really seem so hard to trust God when you dont have anything to live for. Yes, God knows it all and He still wants you to give Him the little that you have and His aim for that is to bless and multiply you on the long run.
Whatever you are holding back from God could be the thing hindering you from you getting to that place you are meant to be and you are wondering why? Just because God delights upon those who put their trust completely in Him and not on human beings. He wants to teach us to be faithful with what he has entrusted us with.

It is not about the little you have that matters but what you are willing to do with the little you have being entrusted with.

A lot of us struggle on this part and you will be surprised that God is trying to test you, to see if you really mean what you say… All of a sudden you loss your job, or probably you become ill or more so you become broke and we begin to attack the devil as the cause of our predicament but God is just there looking at you and waiting for you to just say these words:

I trust you my Redeemer and King and I believe that you will never let go me, you never have and never will so Lord I surrender all of me to you with no exceptions and I lay me down into presence and I want you to do with me what ever you will for I know your plan for me is of good and not of evil. I give you my sickness, my finances, my weaknesses and my excesses and I pray that you turn it around for my good. You own me and so I have no power of my own, I have nothing Lord but you my Sweet Jesus.

The walk of Christianity comes with its own hardship and toils that will shape you and help you know God more, just like our big brother Job who was inflicted with the worse predicament you can ever think of. But still through his suffering he experienced a lot of things. His friends deserted him and his wife declared him a dead man, the world practically turned their back on him.

But he had the last laugh which lasted for as long as he lived.

Most of us think we are fighting the devil but when you take a closer look you realize that it is God who we are actually fighting.

We pray for the grace to different between the two…

It was really great sharing this with you and my prayer is that you remain blessed by it.
Thanks a lot for reading this post as I await your contributions and your experience..

Have a great weekend guys..

image

Love From Judith…

8 thoughts on “The Widow of Zarephath (Day 6)

    1. I understand you but that is what trusting God means. He doesn’t want you to have enough to give but He want you to trust him to provide for your needs… It is faith in action and I know that God will never fail you.

      Like

  1. This is so awesome. The same God who helped the widow will indeed help us as well because God is as constant as the northern star He created. Praises be to Him for NEVER changing! This post was also a good reminder for me to stop worrying about every little thing and to trust God. I truly struggle with this. God does test us, some fail to realize this. It isn’t always the devil. In addition, He chastises those whom He loves. At this point in my life I am honored to be loved by Him and try to learn something from each and every experience that I am rendered whether good or bad.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

